The Clongowes Wood College Foundation is governed by a Trust Deed dated 24th November 2004 which has been supplemented by additional deeds. It is registered with the Charities Regulator (RCN # 20057688) and has charitable tax status from the Revenue Commissioners (CHY # 16175).


As a separate charity to the School, the Foundation has its own Board of Trustees who are appointed by the Jesuit Provincial. The Foundation Trustees ensure correct governance in all fiduciary matters relating to the Foundation and the Foundation, in turn, reports to the Foundation Trustees in addition to the College Board of Management.


The Board of Trustees is comprised of Mr Patrick Halpenny (OC77), the Chairperson; Fr. Moloney SJ, the Provincial; the Rector of Clongowes, Fr. Michael Sheil SJ (OC ‘56); Chris Lumb, the Headmaster; Mr Martin Nugent, a past deputy Headmaster of the College and ex-Chair of fundraising for the Foundation; Mr Peter Murphy from the Jesuit Provincial’s Office and Mr Joe Rooney (OC ’79), a member of the College’s Board of Management and the current Chair of the Foundation.


The Foundation’s auditors are KPMG, Chartered Accountants.


Ms Emma Robinson joined the Foundation in the Spring of 2018 as its Development Officer.  Together Joe and Emma work closely with Ms Denise Nichol, the school’s DFA and Ms Marie Fox of the Finance Department.